Law Reform Commission of Canada. The Law Reform Commission of Canada was established (RSC 1970, c.23, 1st Supp.) as a permanent body to study and keep the statutes and other laws of Canada under continuing and systematic review and in this way to complement the legislative and judicial processes. The work of the Commission is carried out with a view to making recommendations for their improvement, modernization and reform, including, without limiting the generality of the foregoing: the removal of anachronisms and anomalies in the law; the reflection in and by the law of the distinctive concepts and institutions of the common law and civil law legal systems in Canada, and the reconciliation of differences and discrepancies in the expression and application of the law arising out of differences to and new concepts of the law in keeping with and responsive to the changing needs of modern Canadian society and of individual members of that society. The Law Reform Commission reports to Parliament through the Minister of Justice.

Library of Parliament. The Library of Parliament as such was established in 1871 (SC 1871, c.21) although it existed earlier. It currently functions under RSC 1970, c.L-7. The Library of Parliament keeps all books, maps and other articles that are in the joint possession of the Senate and the House of Commons. The Parliamentary Librarian is also responsible for the Parliamentary Reading Room. Persons entitled to borrow books from the Library of Parliament are the Governor General, members of the Privy Council, members of the Senate and the House of Commons, officers of the two Houses, judges of the Supreme Court of Canada and the Federal Court of Canada, and members of the Press Gallery. In addition, books are lent to other libraries and government agencies and reference service is given to scholars. A special research branch serves parliamentarians only. The Parliamentary Librarian has the rank of a Deputy Head of a department and is responsible for the control and management of the Library under the Speaker of the Senate and the House of Commons assisted by a joint committee appointed by the two Houses.

Machinery and Equipment Advisory Board. The Machinery and Equipment Advisory Board, established in 1968, is responsible for considering applications for remission of duty on machinery and equipment classifiable under Tariff Items 42700-1 and/or 41100-1 and for advising the Minister of Industry, Trade and Commerce as to the eligibility of such machinery for remissions according to the provisions of these two tariff items. The Board is composed of a chairman and the Deputy Ministers of Industry, Trade and Commerce, Finance and National Revenue. It is assisted by the branches of the Department of Industry, Trade and Commerce concerned with individual industries, including machinery manufacturing. The objective of the Machinery Program, which is administered by the Board, is to increase efficiency throughout Canadian industry by enabling machinery users to acquire advanced equipment at the lowest possible cost, while at the same time affording Canadian machinery producers tariff protection on what they manufacture.

Medical Research Council. Established in 1969 and operating under authority of RSC 1970, c.M-9, the Council is a departmental Crown corporation of the federal government. It is composed of a president, a vice-president, and 20 members. The primary aim of the Council is the support and development of research in the health sciences in Canadian universities and affiliated institutions. It reports to Parliament through the Minister of National Health and Welfare.

Merchant Seamen Compensation Board. The Board is established by authority of the Merchant Seamen Compensation Act (RSC 1970, c.M-11) and reports to the Minister of Labour. The three members are appointed by the Governor in Council. The Board meets, as required, to adjudicate claims for compensation made by injured seamen employed on ships registered in Canada when they are not entitled to workmen's compensation under any provincial Workmen's Compensation Act or the Government Employees Compensation Act.

Ministry of State for Science and Technology. This Ministry was established by Order in Council PC 1971-1695 on August 11, 1971, with the primary purpose of formulating and developing policies in relation to the activities of the Government of Canada that affect the development and application of science and technology. It is organized into three principal branches - International, Policy and Domestic. The Minister of State for Science and Technology is also designated as the Minister for the Science Council Act, the Cabinet member to whom the Science Council of Canada reports.

Ministry of State for Urban Affairs. The Ministry of State for Urban Affairs was created by Proclamation, in accordance with the Government Organization Act 1970 (SC 1971, c.42), on June 30, 1971 to develop, co-ordinate, and undertake critical studies of federal policies that affect Canadians living in cities and towns.

The Ministry's task is to develop the most appropriate means by which the federal government may influence the evolution of the urbanization process in Canada; to integrate urban policy with other policies and programs of the federal government; and to foster co-operative relationships in the area of urban affairs with the provinces, and through them, with their municipalities, and with public and private organizations.

890